August Favourites

In our current political climate, we need content of more weight and integrity. I’ll do it later tho.

Did anyone fancy another favourites post?? Well, it doesn’t matter either way, because you’re getting one. Here it is.

slitheen

Let’s get into it!

Theatre

You read that right! This month I was incredibly fancy and cultured. I went to the theatre not once, but TWICE! First was a package-offer trip to London (paid for and accompanied by me mum – thanks mum) to see The Lion King.

Lion King doesn’t really differ from the plot or dialogue of the original film (aside from a couple of fourth-wall breaking, references adjusted for a British crowd, and a Frozen joke). But what really makes the play worth seeing are the breathtaking visuals. From the opening rendition of Circle of Life – my favourite song from the original – my mouth was agape. AGAPE I TELL YOU. The scale, and the delicate puppetry, and the set design – it’s a classic see-to-believe affair.

animals

The Lion King was a fantastic experience, but just last night, me and Mum went to the theatre again. This time, it was The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, based on a book my mum loved. It’s about a 15-year-old boy with autism, whose neighbour’s dog is stabbed with a pitchfork. With a setup like that, there’s no telling where the story will take you, but thanks to a wonderfully-realised protagonist and a solid supporting cast, I was hooked along by every twist and shocking development. And even with a (presumably) lower budget than Lion King, the visuals were still breathtaking and inventive. It honestly might have been the best play I’ve ever seen… I haven’t seen that many in my lifetime, but that’s besides the point.

Films

Back to more familiar territory now – the cinema. My favourite film I saw in cinemas this month was definitely Patti Cake$. Incidentally, this was E4’s ‘Slackers Club’ feature this month. If you’re a student, you can attend monthly preview screenings of brand new films, for absolutely nothing. It’s a great idea, and I always find I enjoy a film more if I get in for free. I’m less inclined to be harsh on it.

But I would have gladly paid a tenner for this film. Patti Cake$ is about a 20-something girl from New Jersey who dreams of being a rapper, but is just barely making ends meet. I went into this film feeling a bit deflated, thanks to dodgy Wi-Fi back home. I came out feeling so happy and hyper, you would have thought I’d had a cider or several. This is a prime example of a feel-good film. The main character is a wonderful, relatable and lovable breakout role for Danielle MacDonald. The side characters are all likable and engaging, the music is genuinely good, and the jokes land. It’s funny. It’s moving. It just works, and works so well. The only issue? Well, I can’t pretend I’m happy to have another film about a white person in a predominantly black art field – but this film has way more black people in it than La La Land. So this film wins. That’s how it works.

la la land

I also want to shout out to some gems I found outside of the cinema this month, on DVD. I watched Boyz N The Hood, to write up a piece for it’s inclusion in a film festival in London. A wonderful opportunity, and I have Park Circus to thank (look up their website, maybe you’ll see a screening you’re interested in!). Though the film is definitely of it’s time when it comes to its female representation (although I’ve seen even cringier sexualisation in more recent films), it’s racial and social commentary is as biting as it ever must have been. It’s all about a young black teen living with his dad in South Central Los Angeles. Every minute on screen is accompanied by a soundtrack of gunfire and police sirens, to which the characters don’t react at all. It’s chilling, not least because it’s still relevant.

Also this month, my dad showed me a film called Lars and the Real Girl. Ryan Gosling stars as a quiet, reclusive man who turns up at his brother’s house one day, with a sex doll who he thinks is his girlfriend. I never thought I’d ever even watch a film like this, let alone like it. But I loved this film. It’s actually a surprisingly sensitive and well-researched take on mental illness! Gosling gives what may be the best performance I’ve seen him give, and the amount of crude humour, for a film about a sex doll, is minimal. It even manages to avoid cliché, with a seemingly obvious-yet-messy romantic pairing never moving past sweet friendship. When it ended, I actually went “aww, it’s over”, out loud. I haven’t done that since I was about 12!

lars

Television

With Orphan Black over (and what an ending it was!!), I was desperately in need of a new show to fill my time. Many shows tried and failed to fill the void, until I found Last Tango in Halifax. Now don’t get me wrong – it’s nothing like Orphan Black, except in quality. The first episode was one of the best I’ve ever seen, packing comedy, drama, light and dark moments, and even tense, ridiculous farce into under an hour. The first season’s finale was also one of the most emotional of it’s kind. I genuinely felt my heart hurt. I’m only on Season 2 episode 2 now, but I am hooked and I love every character (except the ones you’re supposed to hate – looking at you, JOHN). Caroline and Jillian are my faves… please let Jillian catch a break.

Miscellany

What else happened this month… Oh sh*t, yeah! I genuinely almost forgot it was my birthday! That was a nice day. My parents very sweetly offered official endorsement of my recent initiation into RuPaul’s Drag Race, by buying me not one, but TWO Drag Queen-themed presents. A mug and an adult-colouring book. My family are the best. Also a Custard Cream keyring. Because they’re the best.

I also really appreciated all of the lovely messages I received, from old high school friends who I’m amazed still remember me, to all the great people I’ve met at university. I’m always genuinely touched to know so many people care to wish me a happy birthday, whether shortly and sweetly or with a generous paragraph.

Anyway! Without wishing to show masculine emotionlessness, let’s cut this mushiness short. For my final favourite, I got to go to London again, this time with a good friend and her family, for DragWorldUK. A convention celebrating all things drag. This was a wonderful and unique experience. Just to be in the same room as so many fantastic artists, performers and personalities, was so surreal. When it came to meeting, chatting with and hugging Michelle Visage, judge on RuPaul’s Drag Race, the surreality was so high, I didn’t even know how to handle it. I will overthink that moment, and what I said to her, for quite possibly eternity. That’s what making memories is all about.

laganj

And with that, I bid all of ye a warm and genuine farewell. Ta-ta!

Leave a comment